Wednesday, August 3, 2011
Is it irresponsible to ride a bike (motorcycle) as the breadwinner wife and mom of a 4 year old?
I'm a mom to a four year old and wife to a loving husband. I used to ride a street bike before I had my daughter, but gave it up once I gave birth and went back to work. I'm the bread winner of the family and my hubby is a wonderful stay at home dad. I just got a great new job and finally have some time to do somethings for myself (like go the gym in the morning and be at home on time at night for dinner). Now that spring/summer is here I'm getting the itch to start riding my bike again (a 600cc sport bike) and I just can't get the thought out of my mind. When I ask my husband his opinion he just says he would never tell me that I shouldn't do the things that I really enjoy. As nice as that is it really doesn't give me a feeling of whether this is irresponsible or not. I know that everything has its risks - I ride defensively, with all my gear (leather coat, full helmet, etc), and I am not some young kid with bad judgment who pulls wheelies. I've taken safety classes and so on. But again, I come back to the fact that riding is inherently dangerous, more so that driving to work in my SUV. But somewhere, I feel like I have to do somethings for my happiness or I'll miss out on living my own life. So, my question to you is: do you think it is irresponsible or a small risk and acceptable? Thanks!
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)
No comments:
Post a Comment